Experience, Vigour on Display as Peter, Pam Win Ibadan City Marathon

With sheer display of heroic determination and amazing composure, Istifanus Peter and Deborah Pam emerged winners of the male and female categories respectively in the 2019 Power Oil/Splash FM Ibadan City Marathon on Sunday.

The starting point of the 42km marathon race was the Obafemi Awolowo Stadium, Oke-Ado. Istifanus, who was the third runner-up in the 2018 edition, won this year’s race with a record time of 2 hours, 44 minutes and 36 seconds, to defeat Danjuma Gyan, who emerged first runner-up, returning in 2 hours, 45 minutes 42 seconds. Philibus Sharubutu emerged second runner-up with a time of 2 hours 46 minutes 12 seconds.

In the female category, last year’s champion, Deborah Pam, retained her number one position with a time of 2 hours 58 minutes 13 seconds as she finished ahead of Hudung Gyang, who emerged first runner-up with a time of 3 hours 12 minutes and 8 seconds, while Elizabeth Nuhu Pawa emerged second runner-up with a time of 3 hours 15 minutes 18 seconds.

In separate interviews after the race, the two winners, Istifanus and Pam commended the organizers of the marathon for sustaining the event for the past 11 years.

In his welcome address, Chairman, Splash FM and Maye Olubadan of Ibadanland, High Chief Adebayo Akande, whose speech was read by the Chief Executive Officer, Splash FM, Atinuke Adetunji, assured that the station will continue to follow the line of integrity, good governance, transparency and accountability which make up the bedrock of the event.

Chief Akande applauded the support of the Federal Ministry of Youths and Sports for always being there to give technical support, as well as other partners to ensure success of the marathon race.

One of the members of the planning committee and News Editor, Splash FM, Tunde Olawuwo disclosed that the station and other partners have put effort in motion to the next edition an international one.

While commending Ibadan people for trouping out en masse to show their support for the station and participants in the event, he admonished the marathoners to always play by the rules and avoid doping in any form.

More than N 3 million was awarded in prizes; the winner of the male category went home with a million Naira, the first runner-up got N 400, 000 and the second runner-up, N 200,000. The winner in the female category went away with N 700,000, the first runner up got N 250, 000 and the second runner-up went home with N 100,000. The 4th and 5th positions in both categories also went home with the prize sums of N 100,000 and N 70,000 respectively.

Prizes were also awarded to winners in the Artisans’ Race as well as in the Run For A Cause category in which the prize monies were donated to charity homes.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *